Honors of the Fifth Edition of the Granada International Film Festival Cines del Sur

The members of the Jury of the 5th Edition of the Granada Cines del Sur Festival, made up of: Ivan Giroud, Xialou Guo, Raj Kumar Gupta, Isaki Lacuesta and Basel Ramsis, after deliberation unanimously decides the following list of honors:

Alhambra de Oro:
Jeon Kyu-Hwan’s Dance Town
Because of the cinematographic quality with which it accurately and forcefully tells the story of a character trapped in a divided nation.

Silver Alhambra:
Haru’s Journey by Masahiro Kobayashi
For his mastery in expressing in a simple and profound way universal values ​​and conflicts.

Bronze Alhambra:
The Light Thief by Aktan Arym Kubat
For revealing to us with humor and intelligence a very simple and local problem that serves as a metaphor to relate the reality of an entire country.

·Special mention:
Ahmed Abdallah’s Microphone
For his freshness and courage in the use of cinematographic language, which in turn serves to bring closer a reality recently experienced by young Egyptians who would end up being the protagonists of a historical event.

The Jury of the 5th Edition of the Granada Cines del Sur Festival wants to highlight the work of the young Latin American filmmakers Rodrigo Guerrero and Yulene Olaizola, for developing a risky and personal cinematographic language in search of a new look at the world around us.

In Granada on June 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *